2022 Pride in Philanthropy Awards and 40th Anniversary Celebration

For our 40th anniversary, we want to celebrate and acknowledge the philanthropic leadership that has brought LGBTQ funding to this moment. We are thrilled to announce our 2022 Pride in Philanthropy Awards, celebrating 40 years of Funders for LGBTQ Issues and honoring five individuals and institutions that have led the way in funding the advancement of equality, social justice, and better lives for LGBTQ communities.

Event Information

We are pleased to invite our community to an in-person and live-streamed awards ceremony to be held in New York City on Thursday, September 29th, 2022 at 5:00 PM – 8:00 PM

Stavros Niarchos Foundation Library Rooftop Event Center

455 5th Ave, New York, NY 10016


*This will be a hybrid celebration of LGBTQ philanthropy. To protect the most vulnerable among us, masks will be required indoors except when actively eating or drinking. Those attending virtually will have live access to the awards presentation slated to run approximately between 5:45 and 6:45 PM. 


Join us to Celebrate 40 Years of Funding LGBTQ Movements!

2022 Award Recipients

Funders for LGTBQ Issues is pleased to announce the 2022 recipients of the Pride in Philanthropy Awards.

  • Urvashi Vaid will be honored with the Paul Rapoport Award for Lifetime Achievement in LGBTQ Philanthropy. This award will be presented posthumously to Urvashi to honor her profound legacy within the philanthropic sector. Urvashi’s thought leadership and deep commitment to centering  the diverse intersections of LGBTQ people’s lives continues to transform our sector.
  • Tzedek Social Justice Fund will be recognized with the Out in the South Leadership Award for its legacy of thoughtful leadership and impactful grantmaking in LGBTQ Southern communities.
  • Kiyomi Fujikawa will receive the Reed Erickson Award for Trailblazing Philanthropic Leadership. This award honors Kiyomi’s  leadership in furthering trans issues and grantmaking in philanthropy, including supporting the launch of the  Fund for Trans Generations at Borealis Philanthropy.
  • Foundation for a Just Society will be recognized with the Out for Impact Award for its significant commitment to LGBTQ Issues as a non-LGBTQ funder. FJS is now one of the largest grantmakers nationally and internationally of LGBTQ Issues.
  • Black Trans Fund will be honored with Grantmakers United for Trans Communities (GUTC) Leadership Award.  The first national fund dedicated to Black Trans organizing, the Black Trans Fund has transformed the field of philanthropy to draw funder attention to an incredibly under-resourced part of the LGBTQ community.

Sponsorship Opportunties

We are honored to work with our supporters and allies interested in pursuing sponsorships to celebrate the profound impact of our Pride in Philanthropy honorees. For more information about sponsorships and program ad sales, please download this sponsorship guide.

The 2022 Pride in Philanthropy Awards have been made possible thanks to the support of the following sponsors.

Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsor

Silver Sponsors

CCS Fundraising

Proteus Fund

Third Wave Fund

Bronze Sponsors

New York Foundation

May and Stanley Smith Charitable Trust

Event Host Committee

Aaron Dorfman, Alli Jernow, Ana Marie Argilagos, Bia Vieira, Brad Clark, Cathy Kapua, Cecilia Garza, Cindy Rizzo, Desiree Flores, Erik Stegman, Hez Norton, Jennifer Ching, Jonathan Jayes-Green, Judy Yu, Katie Carter, Kelli King-Jackson, Kristina Wertz, Lane Harwell, Lyle Matthew Kan, Matthew “Matty” Hart, Naa Hammond, Namita Chad, Neill Coleman, Paul DiDonato, Rebecca Fox, Richard Burns, Rickke Mananzala Roger Doughty, Ryan Li Dahlstrom, Rye Young, Storme Gray, Surina Khan, and Susan Taylor Batten.

*Still in Formation

News and Updates