Defend Black Lives: A National Funder Organizing Call

june, 2020

08jun1:00 pmDefend Black Lives: A National Funder Organizing Call1:00 pm EST

Event Details

It is clearer than ever, that defending Black lives will require us all to take powerful action – including those of us in the philanthropic sector. 

 

As philanthropic actors committed to defending Black lives, we have an opportunity and a mandate to follow the leadership of Black organizers. Our role is to move as much money as we can, especially to local organizations on the ground, both quickly and for the long term. We must also turn inward and reflect on our practices, ensuring an end to exhausting and transactionally-centered practices as institutional philanthropy or individual donors. We must value Black lives and leadership by moving resources urgently, boldly and without harm attached.

On Monday, June 8th at 10am PT/ 11am MT / 12pm CT / 1pm ET we invite you to join us for Defend Black Lives: A National Funder Organizing Call. Together we will hear directly from the Movement for Black Lives about how philanthropy can do what is required to truly be in service of those on the frontlines. We will also share strategies for how to play our part with speed, courage and integrity.

Click Here to Register

Before Monday, here is how you can show your support and commitment to Defending Black Life:

  • Do The Homework: In preparation for our call on Monday, talk to your colleagues/ friends/ family and consider the resources you have (that doesn’t move funds from existing commitments) but is an opportunity to commit new and bolder resources to Black leadership.
  • Show your commitment: On Friday, we are asking our funder colleagues to use your social media and post the hashtags #defendblacklife, #M4BL, and #fundblackleadershipnow
  • Come with organizing ideas: We believe there are lots of great ideas out there and we know many of you are organizing in your institutions and communities.  We will ask people to share what they are doing and ideas they have via the chat box throughout the call.
  • Learn M4BL’s Demands: Read through the demands and M4BL’s Policy platform to understand and align ourselves to M4BL’s vision

This call is brought to you by 

Funders for Justice/ Neighborhood Funders Group (host), Black-Led Movement Fund at Borealis Philanthropy, Communities Transforming Policing Fund at Borealis Philanthropy, Solidaire Network, Resource Generation, Grantmakers for Girls of Color, Third Wave Fund, Association for Black Foundation Executives, Emerging Practitioners in Philanthropy, Philanthropic Initiative for Racial Equity, Communities for Just Schools Fund, Philanthropy Advancing Women’s Human Rights (PAWHR), and Funders for LGBTQ Issues

X