The Pride In Philanthropy Awards: Celebrating 35 Years of Funders for LGBTQ Issues

The Pride In Philanthropy Awards: Celebrating 35 Years of Funders for LGBTQ Issues

02nov4:00 pm7:00 pmThe Pride In Philanthropy Awards: Celebrating 35 Years of Funders for LGBTQ Issues4:00 pm - 7:00 pm(GMT+00:00)

Event Details


Premier Sponsors: Evelyn and Walter Haas Jr. Fund | Jim Johnson and Paul Hokemeyer |

Partner Sponsors: Amalgamated Bank | FMA – Fiscal Strength for Nonprofits | Gill Foundation | HRC Foundation | Maurizio Morello & Fulton Vittoria LLP | van Ameringen Foundation

Thursday, November 2nd from 4pm-7pm

(Awards Ceremony to Begin at 4:15pm)

The Flatiron Room
37 W 26th Street
New York, NY 10010



Marco Antonio Quiroga with the Reed Erickson Trailblazing Leadership Award for his work at the Contigo Fund, leading a philanthropic response to the Pulse massacre that is driven by – and builds – the leadership of LGBTQ Latinx communities and other communities of color.

Laughing Gull Foundation with the Out in the South Leadership Award for its thought leadership and impactful grantmaking bringing more resources to LGBTQ Southern communities.

Henry van Ameringen with the Paul Rapoport Award for Lifetime Achievement in Philanthropy for his decades of philanthropic giving to LGBTQ communities, including early leadership responding to the HIV/AIDS epidemic and long history of funding for LGBTQ communities of color.

The Evelyn and Walter Haas, Jr. Fund with the Out for Impact Award for its significant commitment to LGBTQ issues over the course of almost two decades, which was one of the first and most significant investors in the movement for marriage equality and has continued to be a leading funder of LGBTQ rights since the marriage victory.

The Trans Justice Funding Project with the Out for Impact Award for its leadership supporting grassroots trans-led groups across the country, empowering transgender leaders in community-based organizations and in philanthropy, and transforming the conversation around impactful grantmaking in trans communities.

(For more detailed information about the honorees, click here.)

About the Awards & Funders for LGBTQ Issues’ 35th Anniversary

Funders for LGBTQ Issues was founded 35 years ago in 1982 at the annual conference of the National Network of Grantmakers, when a small group of funders met to discuss how philanthropy could better support lesbian and gay issues. Since that pivotal moment, we have come into our own as a fully staffed organization with a committed board of directors and staff, a history of successful initiatives, and an annual convening of grantmakers which has reflected both our growth and the growth of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) philanthropic sector. We are now a network of more than 80 foundations, corporations, and funding institutions that collectively award more than one billion dollars annually, including more than $100 million specifically devoted to LGBTQ issues. Our mission is to increase the scale and impact of philanthropic resources aimed at enhancing the well-being of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer communities, promoting equity, and advancing racial, economic and gender justice.

For our 35th anniversary, we want to celebrate and acknowledge the philanthropic leadership that has brought LGBTQ funding to this moment. We are thrilled to announce our inaugural 2017 Pride in Philanthropy Awards, celebrating 35 years of Funders for LGBTQ Issues and honoring four individuals and institutions that have led the way in funding the advancement of equality, social justice, and better lives for LGBTQ communities.

Host Committee*

J. Bob Alotta, Richard Burns, Jennifer Ching, Karina Claudio Betancourt, Paul Di Donato, Roger Doughty, Rebecca Fox, Carly Hare, Matthew Hart, Kris Hermanns, Surina Khan, Rachel Korberg, Andrew Lane, Rickke Mananzala, Jason McGill, Leticia Peguero, Cindy Rizzo, Michael Seltzer, Mitchell Singer, Kristine Stallone, Alvin Starks, Bia Vieira, Edgar Villanueva, Rye Young

*Still in Formation

Click Here To Get Your Tickets!



A number of sponsorships are available for this event. For information about sponsorships and program ad sales, click here. To secure a sponsorship or place an ad in the program please contact Rebecca Wisotsky at [email protected].


Making a Gift in Honor of the Awardees

If you’d like to make a gift to Funders for LGBTQ Issues in honor of one of the honorees, please do so below!