They’re Coming For Our Kids: What You Can Do About the Right’s Attack on Trans and Gender-Expansive Youth

july, 2021

21jul12:00 PMThey're Coming For Our Kids: What You Can Do About the Right’s Attack on Trans and Gender-Expansive Youth12:00 PM

Event Details

This year, a historic number of bills attacking the rights of trans youth are sweeping the U.S. In particular Southern states, where they are a part of a larger regressive and racialized policy push that includes voter suppression and heightened policing

This legislation focuses on barring trans youth from participating in sports teams, using bathrooms, and accessing critical gender affirming health care. Trans youth have been organizing to protect their rights alongside trans adults, with little outside support. 

It is critical that the broader social justice community step up to block these bills — it’s the right thing to do. We must not play into the Right’s strategy of divide and conquer by using trans rights as a wedge issue. 

Join us on July 21 for an update on what is occurring and concrete examples of what movement leaders, organizations, and funders — people like yourself — can do to support. 

July 21, 2021

9AM PT / 10AM MT / 11AM CST / 12PM ET
90 minutes (recording will be shared)

This event is intended for Members of Funders for LGBTQ Issues and invited guests.
Please contact [email protected] to request the event registration link.

Panel Moderator:

Kierra Johnson, National LGBTQ Task Force 

Speakers:

Daroneshia Duncan-Boyd, Trans Advocates Knowledgeable Empowering (TAKE)
Rumba Yambú, InTRANSitive
Jasmine Tasaki, WeCareTn 

Hosted by:

Cosponsors: 

Borealis Philanthropy, Destination Tomorrow, Ford Foundation, Foundation for a Just Society, General Service Foundation, Grantmakers for Southern Progress, Laughing Gull Foundation, Open Society Foundations, Resource Generation, Solidaire Network, Third Wave Fund, Trans Justice Funding Project, Wellspring Philanthropic Fund, Women Donors Network, Women’s Foundation California, & Women’s Funding Network

X